Call for candidates: 2016 Executive Committee

By admin1 News Comments Off on Call for candidates: 2016 Executive Committee

Dear members,

We are looking for volunteers to sit on the 2016 ARLIS/NA MOQ Executive Committee for the following positions: Vice-President, Treasurer, Membership Secretary, and Secretary. Please find below a description of each position (as indicated in our Chapter’s bylaws):

Vice-President: The Vice-President shall perform the duties of the Chair in case of the President’s inability to serve. He or she shall be the Program Chair. The Vice-President may be assigned other duties by the President (mandate: 1 year). Please note that the Vice-President becomes the President at the end of their mandate.

Treasurer: The Treasurer shall maintain financial records and perform any other duties inherent in the office (mandate: 2 years).

Membership Secretary: The Membership Secretary shall keep and update records of the Chapter membership, provide address labels and be in charge of recruitment (mandate : 2 years).

Secretary: The Secretary shall keep the minutes of Chapter and Executive Committee meetings and perform other duties inherent in the office (mandate: 2 years).

Please note that each member of the Executive Committee is required to belong to ARLIS/NA. He or she is encouraged to obtain financial support from their institution to cover the membership fees (if possible), but ARLIS/NA MOQ may cover the membership fee to ARLIS/NA (if necessary).

We strongly encourage you to play an active role in one of these positions!

Your contribution will be greatly appreciated. To ensure the success of the Chapter, it is important that these positions are filled in 2016.

Please submit your candidacy (or nominate another member) to the Nomination Committee before November 6, 2015.

We hope you will not hesitate to contact us if you have questions regarding this message.

Thank you for your consideration.


The Nomination Committee

John Latour
jwlatour (at) yahoo (dot) ca

David Sume
david (dot) sume (at) gmail (dot) com

P.S. We would like to express our sincerest thanks to Felicity Tayler (Treasurer), Philip Dombowsky (Membership Secretary) and Corina MacDonald (Secretary) for their contributions to the Chapter. It is also important to recognize the significant contributions of Nancy Duff (President 2015), Pamela Casey (Vice-President 2015, President 2016) and Pierre B. Landry (Past President and ARLIS/Canada Representative).


  • Share: